In what appears to be my standard fashion, my “top of year” lists seem to always come out later in the following year.  I ask myself why?  It’s just hard to narrow down the best of the best and not be biased towards any other lists.  Each year is getting tougher and tougher to make these lists as more and more bands are breaking through and simply making good music.  Sometimes it’s easy to tell the great stuff upon the first couple of listens.  Sometimes it takes a dozen listens and going back after a month or two of not listening to a specific album at all.  I found myself doing that in many cases last year.  This list is in no particular order.  If it is on my top 15, it was great, at least in this listeners opinion.  I base my choices on feeling – does the music give me that indescribable feeling when I hear it.  I can’t describe it, but it takes me away to that special place where nothing is real and everything is possible…

The Top 15 Metal Albums of 2016

  • Vektor – Terminal Redux
  • Sumac – What One Becomes
  • Cobalt – Slow Forever
  • Neurosis – Fires Within Fires
  • Amon Amarth – Jomsviking
  • Death Angel – The Evil Divide
  • Revocation – Great is our Sin
  • Exmortus – Ride Forth
  • Gojira – Magma
  • Anciients – Voice of the Void
  • Hammers of Misfortune – Dead Revolution
  • Astronoid – Air
  • Inter Arma – Paradise Gallows
  • Metallica – Hardwired…To Self Destruct
  • Anthrax – For All Kings

As with any lists there will be honorable mentions.  This year there is two that desearve recognition.

  • Megadeth – Dystopia
  • Opeth – Sorceress

Quite honestly Megadeth really could have been in the top 15 as I listened to that album.  A lot.  Opeth was one of the albums that initially I was like ‘blah” and then went back again and again.  Took a month off and went back.  It’s started to grow on me.  I like old Opeth best but I appreciate what they are doing now as the music is great, just not used to the completely growl-less Opeth that I was raised on.

2017 has really started off strong and many good albums are already out there and tons of great more to come.  The challenge is finding the time to listen.

Ending this on a different note, although we haven’t brought back the Audible Extacy podcast completely back, we have decided to do some live music talk every once in a while.  It’s a conversation about all types of music and you’re invited to check it out and hear what three old friends like to discuss and argue about.

Audible Extacy Livecast Channel

Thanks for stopping by.

J

