Let’s talk about something incredible.  Let’s talk about something epic.  Let’s talk about one of the best metal bands in the world.  Let’s talk Gojira.

Last night, September 24, 2016, I had the pleasure, along with over 1,000 of my closest friends, to see the Tesseract/Gojira show at the Orange Peel in Asheville, NC.  Keep in mind this is place is basically a bar/club.  This place was packed, sold out, wall to wall, metal fans and I can’t think of a better way to spend a Saturday night out of the house.

First up, opening band Tesseract.  Tesseract came on at 8:00pm sharp and played until 8:45ish.  They sounded great to me, as although I was familiar with their music, I have never really gave it much of a shot.  My companions for the night were die-hard Tesseract fans and on the ride home they told me they were a little disappointed with the song selection.  I hated to hear that as I thought Tesseract put on a great show and the crowd seemed to enjoy.  I wish I could have provide a set list of what was played but my unfamiliarity with them isn’t helping and regardless, I thought they were pretty good for an opening act.  On to the main event…

After about a 25-30 minute break to allow for stage setup to get squared away, the lights dimmed down at 9:15pm and literally 10 seconds into the opening song, Only Pain, the entire place went into a frenzy.  Everyone in this place was either moshing or bouncing.  It was a spectacle to see.  If you have ever seen a video from a metal show during Donnington, or the Download Festival you should be able to picture what this audience was doing, in a bar.  Clearly Gojira came to destroy the Orange Peel.  Full disclosure, I am and have been, a fan of Gojira since the From Sirius To Mars album.  Back then I was late to the game of Gojira but have been a supporter of this great French Quartet since then. I will admit that hearing Gojira on an album and seeing Gojira in person is two different monsters.  Their albums are fantastic, their live show is incredible.  It is almost like they actually sound heavier live, if that is possible.

img_2011

The setlist as it unfolded through the evening:

  1. Only Pain
  2. The Heaviest Matter of the Universe
  3. Silvera
  4. Stranded
  5. Flying Whales
  6. The Cell
  7. Backbone
  8. Remembrance
  9. Terra Inc.
  10. Explosia
  11. Drum Solo (basically a 5-7 minute break for the rest of the band, Mario Duplantier doing what he does best)
  12. The Shooting Star
  13. Toxic Garbage Island
  14. Pray (After this song the band left the stage briefly, long enough for a crowd chant)
  15. Clone
  16. Oroborus (After this song the band left for a little while longer, chant continued and they returned to finish what they started)
  17. Vacuity

img_2042

 

The band finished playing just shy of 11pm.  At the conclusion of the show, the crowd was clearly satisfied.  I can honestly say that Gojira are a spectacle to behold.  They came, we saw, they destroyed.  End of story.  If you are a fan of metal this is a MUST SEE show.  My only hopes are that they return to do it all over again.

Until next time…\m/…Keep it Heavy!!!

